Book Thought: Three Big Mistakes of my Life

Walked into one of Bangalore’s oldest book store, Premier Book Store on Church street. Went it with my buddy Hrish. He was complaining that I don’t do enough reading. He was saying ” A filmmaker you want to be, you better be reading books. It helps your vocabulary” I was like, well an advice doesn’t hurt. Its for free. Honestly, I used to be a voracious reader, but lost a bit of touch durin the momentum of my life. Now, an attempt to get back into some reading. Hrish bhai, picked ‘Three Mistakes of my life’ bu Chetan Bhagat ( the writer of ‘Five Point Someone’ and ‘One Night at a call centre’). I was more than glad to borrow it and read. Well, did the title of the book, sound a bit familiar to my life.

Ha ha!

Now the book. It’s a narration by a character Govind Patel to the author. It starts with an suicide email from Govind to the author. Once read, the author travels to India to meet him and the story unfold there as he explains. The story spoke about aspects of a man’s life and things that influence him. Friends, love, dreams, concern, goals, money, politics, religion, beliefs, superstitions, forced opinions, forced influences, grievences and death. This story revolves around three characters who are trying to figure out what to do with their lives. When, they do succeed in that, what other things come into play.

I would say, its a good story. Great narration. I did feel it to be a a bit BOLLYWOODISH. A good story line to be made into a film. Should say, I did feel like I was watching the movie, as I read through.

Rating: 3/5

P.S. I am not going to judge the author by this book, coz’ I haven’t read both his previous books. I have heard that they were great. So maybe I would try getting them to read and let you know, what I think about this author.

3 Responses to “Book Thought: Three Big Mistakes of my Life”


  1. 1 Hrish May 21, 2008 at 11:50 am

    glad you enjoyed the book bro! 🙂 read “Five Point Someone” – you will love it, specially the way college life is depicted there. Also “One night at the call centre” builds up well but disappoints towards the end. That’s why I didn’t like it.

  2. 2 Rohan September 12, 2008 at 6:25 pm

    five point someone rocks big time………..
    its jus gr888………..

  3. 3 Hari September 30, 2008 at 3:54 pm

    @rohan: Sure is a an awesome book. Happy reading.


Leave a Reply

Pages

said before

‘A’ for a start!

Framoid





Whose it?

Mystery inside....

My Mobile World

Bangalore Now!

Bangalore's Traffic Began here!

Got worse!

More Photos

RSS My Pencil

Blog Stats

  • 49,351 blessed

