Impressed with Tumblr

A couple of days back. A blog friend of mine Sindhu closed down her ‘wordpress blog’ only to be moving to her new blog site called http://sindhu.tumblr.com … This act of hers did not really impact me or quiz me of why she did so. Again, it’s her blog, her posts and her absolute right. We just need to accept it, go ahead and subscribe to her new blog to continue to read her writings, for which she did take some effort in sending everyone her subscribe URL and her new address too!

Getting to the point…. the word ‘Tumblr.com’ was the one which really made me think. It was pretty funny, but I did read a post in praises of it in Sindhu’s blog and the reason as to why she chose ‘Tumblr’. Today, finally I managed to remember and check it out. ‘ http://www.tumblr.com’ Logged in. New user name/pw and entered the Tumblr world….

I should say I was impressed. It was clean, simple and nice. Which tempted to me to check out more of it. It ain’t option filled like WordPress. But still it served its purpose and one thing that really made me love it is…… it added my picture as the URL’s icon. Now, that ended with me having a tumblr blog now at this URL: http:/mybag.tumblr.com …Guys, you can check out the URL icon.. its meeeeee πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ and I have called this “Spacing Mind’. As of now, posted a couple of posts as test… and I think I might post something soon at that addresss… but again nothing better than HOME…. so you shall continue reading more of me at this web space πŸ™‚

3 Responses to “Impressed with Tumblr”


  1. 1 sindhu April 9, 2008 at 11:28 am

    hey , you could do that with with a wordpress hosted blog too, it’s called a favicon. simply place a favicon.ico named file of your picture in the wordpress installation directory πŸ™‚

    with .wordpress.com blogs am not sure, but there ought to be way.

    and my ! thank you for the review.

    what you can do with your tumblr account is , go to customise>import your feeds (blog feed, facebook feed or just about anything that you frequent) and tumblr will automatically pull stuff from the feed links every 1 hour or so.

    also you can receive dashboard updates of fellow tumblers.
    if you are logged in to tumblr,and visit a tumblelog then you will see a follow button on the top right side of the tumblelog, click on it, and you will see new post updates of them right in your tumblr dashboard! πŸ™‚

  2. 2 Hari April 10, 2008 at 12:39 am

    Hey Syn,

    Oh! I don’t have a wordpress hosted blog, just using the .wordpress.com. Again, did try searchin for that option but really did not come across any. But still thank you very much for the tip πŸ™‚

    Oh, I really liked your new blog layout. Very syn-ple (simple) esp. the cloud…:)

    And on the tumblr tips… I got it the way you told me.. Thank you, again.. its great πŸ™‚ Appreciate it. still exploring more and more…Me not being a techie, I have heard all you guys talkin abt this app development with just the api calls.. Do you know how this works, in simple words?? Just curious…..

  3. 3 chvnx June 5, 2008 at 5:56 am

    Tumblr rules. I just made a new Tumblr theme and its available for download @ SkyLite.Tumblr.com.

    Come check it out and feel free to follow my tumble log @ chvnx.com


Leave a Reply

Pages

said before

‘A’ for a start!

RSS My Pencil

  • β€˜Spirit’ – A collaborative painting
    Spirit’- This is a new painting is by Yamini Menon and an addon by me- Hari. Β  An experiment of how we could collaborate on a single painting painted at different instances, at different point of time and different state of mind. And VOILA! this was it ended with when our minds met. Let us […]
  • AaaahhhH!!!!!
  • Happy Feet

Blog Stats

  • 49,427 blessed

